North Carolina Driver Education Requirements
In North Carolina, Driver Education is required for any person under the age of 18 desiring to receive a learner's permit or driver's license. The required Driver Education course consists of 30 hours of classwork and 6 hours behind-the-wheel training. In Mecklenburg County, Driver Education is not part of the school day or of the school curriculum.
To enroll in a Driver Education class, students must be at least fourteen and a half years of age, but not more than eighteen years of age, and actively enrolled in a public, private, charter, or licensed home school within Mecklenburg County. Also, students must pay a $65.00 fee to register for a Driver Education class through Jordan Driving School.
Here is a video outlining new changes to the NC driving laws that affect young drivers, or Provisional Licensees.